FBS teams get to count one FCS win toward bowl eligibility.
The Noles were 5-6 against FBS opposition, but they also had a blowout win of Delaware State, a 2-9 FCS team from the MEAC.
That FCS win has to meet a seldom-cited requirement to count toward a bowl.
It has to come against a team that has used at least 90 percent of the FCS maximum scholarship total (63 per team) “during a rolling two-year period.”
I can’t think of a time this rule has been used to invalidate an FCS win. There are a few 6-6 teams every year that have beaten FCS teams, though.
Under this rule, Delaware State shouldn’t have counted toward FSU’s eligibility.
Reddit went to Delaware State and got the numbers, finding they came up short. SB Nation reached out to various DSU officials to attempt to confirm those numbers, but didn’t hear anything back. FSU and the Independence Bowl declined comment to the Tampa Bay Times.
Thursday night, reporter Brett McMurphy confirmed the game will go on despite a “monumental error that should have been caught at three levels: the school, conference and NCAA.”
https://www.sbnation.com/college-footba ... gible-ncaa